blueroomcrafts

My Personal Crafting Chaos

It Moose Be Love

on November 1, 2015

Christmas projects are in full swing now.  The set I used this week is one I believe came out last year but did not really get a chance to use it.  Lawn Fawn’s Critters in the Arctic is so cute.  The really exciting thing for me today is that I came up with another technique to do with my MISTI (The Most Incredible Stamp Tool Invented).  While I am sure I am not the first to think of it, I have not seen it done before.  I used the MISTI to create a reverse image of a stamp.  As you can see the image on the left is the original stamp and it was done in watercolors.  The image on the right is the reverse and it was done with Copics.  I intended to due both in watercolor, however I found that the technique worked best on non-watercolor paper.  The texture of the watercolor paper tended to cause the ink to bleed into the grain.  So what I did was to stamp the image on acetate with a pigment ink, in this case, Versafine Sepia, then turn the acetate over and press it done onto the cardstock creating the reverse image.  The MISTI’s real value in this technique is the ability to stamp on the acetate several times to get a good buildup of ink. I then took a Sepia colored marker and deepened the image outline to resemble its counterpart.  One pass thought the Brother Scan n Cut and you have a perfect mirror image.  Although not rocket science I was pretty excited that I was able to make it work so well. I hope you enjoy the card.

Products used:

Stamp Sets: Lawn Fawn – Critters in the Arctic; Hero Arts – Color Layering Christmas Trees

Paper: PTI Stamper’s Select White, Tim Holtz Distress Watercolor

Inks: VersaFine Sepia; Hero Arts Ombre Greens; Ranger Distress Inks Tumbled Glass, Shaded Lilac, Gathered Twigs, Tea Dye; Various Copics

Tools: MISTI; Brother Scan n Cut2; Prima/Finnabar Snowflake Paste; Wow embossing powders Apple Red & Opaque Bright White; Mama Elephant Landscape Trio dies
DSCN0129

The other think I am excited about is that Jennifer McGuire has announced her latest project –  Share Handmade Kindness. Click here to go to her blog and check it out.  This is an incredible opportunity to be apart of something great, spread kindness to other, support a great cause and have fun crafting will doing it.  So be sure to check out her blog for all the details.

SHK badge featured

I hope that everyone has a great week.

Hugs & Happy Crafting. Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

